Chat with us, powered by LiveChat
Denver's Premier Criminal Attorney Expert Violent Crime Defense Strategies

Denver Assault Lawyer

Discussion of Denver Assault Charges

Assault is generally defined under state law as attacking another person and causing some type of injury in the process. The Colorado Criminal Code includes three separate statutes for each of the different degrees of assault, and it provides tough penalties in proportion to the severity of the offense:

Colorado Revised Statutes §18-3-204, "Assault in the first degree"
First-degree assault is charged in several different scenarios, including, but not limited to:

  • Intentionally causing seriously bodily injury by means of a deadly weapon
  • Intentionally causing serious and permanent disfigurement or the destruction, amputation or permanent disability of a member or organ of another person's body
  • Knowingly engaging in conduct that creates a grave risk of death to another person and consequently causing serious bodily injury, provided that the circumstances of the act manifest extreme indifference to the value of human life

The crime may be charged as high as a Class 3 felony with a maximum sentence of $750,000 in fines and up to 12 years in prison, though the charge may be reduced based on evidence that the assault was committed in a heat of passion that was reasonably provoked.

Colorado Revised Statutes §18-3-203, "Assault in the second degree"
Applies under a number of different circumstances including, but not limited to:

  • Intentionally causing bodily injury to another person while using a deadly weapon
  • Causing injury to a person whom the perpetrator knows or reasonably should know is a peace officer or firefighter
  • Recklessly causing serious bodily injury to another person through reckless use of a deadly weapon
  • Causing stupor, unconsciousness or other physical or mental impairment or injury by administering without consent a drug or other substance capable of producing such harm.
  • Causing serious bodily injury in an attempt to cause bodily injury to another

Charged as high as a Class 3 felony, with the same possibility of a reduction in the charges as for assault in the first degree.

Colorado Revised Statutes §18-3-204, "Assault in the third degree"
Knowingly or recklessly causing bodily injury to another person, or causing injury through negligence in the use of a deadly weapon. Charged as a Class 1 misdemeanor, with a maximum sentence of 18 months of imprisonment and $5,000 in fines.

Let a Violent Crime Attorney Fight for You

Whether you are charged with a simple misdemeanor assault or if you are accused of committing assault with a deadly weapon, you cannot afford to take any chances with the outcome of your case. Even after completing the terms of your sentence, you could still find that having a conviction for a violent crime on your record may make it difficult or impossible for you to find suitable housing or employment. We have helped countless people in your situation, and we are ready to fight for you.

Contact us now at Trent Trani Criminal Defense & DUI Attorney for a confidential consultation with a criminal defense lawyer who has 20 years of experience and who received special training during his time as a public defender.