Chat with us, powered by LiveChat
Denver's Premier Criminal Attorney Expert Theft Crime Defense Strategies

Denver Burglary Attorney

About Burglary Charges in Denver

The Colorado Criminal Code provides for three different degrees of burglary. Whether you are charged with first-, second- or third-degree burglary, you need a hard-hitting criminal defense attorney representing you with the authorities and fighting to clear your name so that you can avoid the harsh penalties you face. The sentence you could receive if convicted of burglary depends on which degree of the offense you are accused of committing:

Colorado Revised Statutes §18-4-202 (2012), "First-degree burglary"
Occurs in cases where the burglar knowingly and unlawfully enters or remains in a building or occupied structure, with the intent to commit a crime against another person or property. It is also charged in cases of burglary when at any point during the commission of the crime, the burglar assaults or menaces another person, or if the burglar is armed with explosives or a deadly weapon. First-degree burglary is a Class 3 felony, punishable by up to 12 years in prison and a $750,000 fine.

Colorado Revised Statutes §18-4-203 (2012), "Second-degree burglary"
Second-degree burglary is charged under generally the same circumstances as first-degree burglary, with the difference that it does not involve assault, menacing or the use of weapons or explosives. It is a Class 4 felony, with a maximum sentence of $500,000 in fines and 6 years in prison.

Colorado Revised Statutes §18-4-204 (2012), "Third-degree burglary"
Whereas first- and second-degree burglary involves breaking into, entering or remaining unlawfully in a building or dwelling, third-degree burglary occurs in cases where the burglar breaks into or enters a vault, safe, cash register, coin vending machine, product dispenser, money depository, safety deposit box, coin telephone, coin box or similar equipment. It is a Class 5 felony, punishable by up to 3 years in prison and $100,000 in fines.

Note that in cases in which the burglar is accused of breaking into a pharmacy or other place where controlled substances are lawfully kept, with the purpose of stealing drugs, a burglary charge can be increased, for example from a Class 3 to Class 2 felony.

Denver Theft Crime Lawyer for Burglary Charges

Don't let burglary charges ruin your future. Whether you have been falsely accused by someone who stands to gain from your conviction, if you were mistakenly identified as the suspect, or if you committed the crime in a serious lapse of judgment, we want to help you receive fair treatment under law.

Contact us now at Trent Trani Criminal Defense & DUI Attorney for a free, confidential consultation so that you can tell your side of the story without fear of self-incrimination and find out about the strategies that we can use to defend you.