Denver Theft Crime Lawyer
Sentence for a Theft Crime Conviction in Denver
If you have been accused of theft, it is important to consult with a criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible. You are now being targeted with prosecution by the state, and failure to take effective action now leaves you exposed to the near certainty that you will be convicted and punished according to the provisions of the Colorado Criminal Code.
Under the terms of Colorado Revised Statutes §18-4-401 (2012) "Theft," the penalties for a theft crime depend on the value of stolen goods:
- Less than $500 - Class 2 misdemeanor, punishable by up to 12 months in jail and $1,000 in fines
- Between $500 and $999 - Class 1 misdemeanor, punishable by up to 18 months in jail and $5,000 in fines
- Between $1,000 and $20,000 - Class 4 felony, punishable by up to 6 years in prison and $500,000 in fines
- Valued at $20,000 or more - Class 3 felony, punishable by up to 12 years in prison and $750,000 in fines
It is also important to note that if you are accused of committing two or more thefts within a period of 6 months, the individual acts may be aggregated together for a higher charge. For example, if you committed three thefts valued around $500, you could be charged with a felony, whereas any single one of the crimes would normally have been a misdemeanor.
Burglary and Robbery Charges
Other factors will influence the charges in a case of theft crimes. For example, if you are accused of using force, violence or threats of violence, you can be charged with robbery. If you are suspected to have committed the theft by breaking in or unlawfully entering a building, you will most likely be charged with burglary.
To learn more about the charges you face and find out about strategies that we can use to defend your freedom, contact us now at Trent Trani Criminal Defense & DUI Attorney for a confidential consultation.