Chat with us, powered by LiveChat
Denver's Premier Criminal Attorney Expert DUI Crime Defense Strategies

First Offense DUI in Denver

Representation by an experienced DUI lawyer, even on a first offense, can make or break whether or not you suffer many of the possible consequences of a Colorado driving under the influence charge. Having an attorney on your side can ensure that you walk away from this process with the best possible outcome.

It is helpful and comforting to have an attorney walking you through the process, speaking on your behalf with the prosecuting district attorney, and assessing whether or not the police conducted their investigation correctly and within your rights. Contact us now for a free case evaluation and let us take on the weight of dealing with this difficult situation off of your shoulders.

Defending DUI Suspects

The vast majority of people who are arrested and charged with driving under the influence (DUI) in Denver are not hardened criminals. They are ordinary people who have made mistakes or who have been the victim of law enforcement mistakes. A DUI arrest can happen to anyone from any walk of life, and it is exceedingly common. In fact, the Colorado Department of Transportation reports that there were 3,123 DUI / DWAI arrests in Denver County in 2011 alone. If you find yourself in this situation, you may be feeling frightened, frustrated and anxious about your future, and you may not know what to expect next. You owe it to yourself to hire a criminal defense lawyer who is ready to guide you through the process and help you find your way back out of the criminal justice system. Come to M. Trent Trani & Associates, P.C. for help.

Penalties for a First-Time DUI in Colorado

There are two aspects to the penalties you face after an arrest for driving under the influence. The first is the criminal aspect of the case. This is the part that takes place in the criminal county court of whatever county that your case is in. A first DUI offense is punishable by a sentence of between 5 days and a year in jail, $600-$1000 in fines, and between 48 and 96 hours of court ordered community service. The possible consequences can be reduced and, in some cases, avoided altogether with the assistance of an experienced criminal attorney.

The second type of penalty that can be expected is the administrative license suspension. The Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles will move to suspend the license of anyone who has been arrested for DUI, with a suspension of nine months for a first-time offense. This suspension may be contested by requesting an administrative hearing, but you must take immediate action after the arrest to ensure that you do not miss the tight deadline.

In addition to the license suspension, you are also at risk of being subjected to tough criminal penalties. We are often successful in helping our clients be qualified for early reinstatement of their driver's license and, in some cases, completely avoid the suspension. In other cases, we can help clients work out a deal with the Colorado Department of Motor Vehicles for restricted driving while serving their suspension.

While no attorney can promise you any particular result, what M. Trent Trani & Associates, P.C. does promise is that we will do everything in our power to ensure that you get the best possible outcome at the conclusion of your case so that you can get this stressful situation behind you and get on with the business of living life.

Call us now to see how we can help.